Sara McMann Signs with Strikeforce

It was only a matter of time, but the undefeated Sara McMann has signed with Strikeforce. MMAJunkie broke the news Tuesday.

The 2004 Olympic silver medalists in wrestling hasn’t lost an MMA match in her carreer, getting a victory over ranked Shayna Baszler at Invicta 2 this past July. Currently ranked #5 in the division, it is expected she will make her Strikeforce debut on the Nov. 3 card to a yet to be named opponent.

With the signing, McMann will forfeit her spot in the upcoming bantamweight title match at Invicta FC.

“I am saddened not to be fighting in the first Invicta FC bantamweight title fight,” said McMann. “I am not sure how long my MMA career will last and, with the time I have left in the sport, I need to take every opportunity that comes my way to fight the best competition out there, so this move is part of a bigger picture for me.

“Since Invicta FC and Strikeforce work closely together,” continued McMann, “I hope I will have another opportunity to fight for Invicta FC. Shannon Knapp and Janet Martin (Invicta FC Matchmaker) have treated the other fighters and me better than any other promotion I have ever worked with and I am grateful to them for helping me with this opportunity in Strikeforce.”

With a win Nov. 3, McMann will propel herself into a much anticpated title match with champion Ronda Rousey; which will be a battle of Olympic medalists and would be the champ’s biggest challenge to date.

Posted in MMA

Leave a Reply

