Interview – Texas’s Kourtnie Goodman Looks to Make Impact in Debut

Kourtnie GoodmanThe Texas MMA women’s divisions have opened up in the past year with some bright and young talent. Part of this next generation of fighters in Kourtnie Goodman, who trains with Rusk MMA on Rusk, TX.

The Texas BJJ standout will be making her debut this Saturday at Ascend Combat’s “Season’s Beatings 4″ card in Shreveport, LA. She will face Skylet Bobbitt for the 125lb women’s JrMMA title. The fight will be streamed live and free on The CageInsiders Facebook page.

We talked to Goodman about training for her debut, and enter a unique sorority of young Texas talent.

—–

Wombat Sports:  This is your debut in the cage and it’s for a title. How are you feeling coming in?

Kourtnie Goodman: I’m nervous, but I have been training for this day and I have the utmost confidence in my training that I received from my Coaches as well as all of my training partners.

Wombat: Why the decision to take up MMA?

Goodman: I originally took the sport up on a dare from a friend who said I couldn’t do it. I wanted to prove him wrong and show him that I could hang with the guys. I have participated in organized sports before, but with MMA I feel like I am truly able to be myself and I ended up falling in love with the sport.

W.S.: The Texas WMMA scene is growing with a lot more female fighters making their presence on the national scene. What do you think about it?

K.G.: I think it’s great that females are starting to get the publicity. There are a lot of great female fighters out there, and I look forward to being one and representing female MMA at the highest level possible.

W.S.: You have a strong ground game from what we read. How has it been training the striking aspect of your game?

K.G.: It has been a lot different than the ground game and a little more difficult to grasp, but my striking is getting better with every training day, and I love the striking aspect of the sport.

W.S.: What do you know about your opponent?

K.G.: I know that she has more experience than me and this is not her first time to fight in front of a large crowd. She is the current Jr MMA Champion, and I know that she is wanting to knock me out in the first round, but I am definitely ready. If it ends up being a stand up war, so be it, I’m ready.

W.S.: Anything you’d like to add/thank?

K.G.: I hope that people have the opportunity to come out and see the fight. They won’t be disappointed, because it’s going to be one hell of a fight. I would also like to thank my family and friends, my coaches Steven Garza and Booker Arthur, my training partners of Team Fury at Rusk MMA, my sponsors Double Vision MMA, and Ascend Combat for this opportunity.

Posted in MMA

Leave a Reply

