Tuff-n-uff Strawweight Tourney Preview: Laura Uyeda

In the coming days, we will be previewing the upcoming Tuff-n-uff strawweight tournament. The winner will get a contract to InvictaFC.

The semi-finals will be April 11 in Vegas and can be seen online at GoFightLive.tv for $10.

Laura Uyeda 02


Arkansas’s Laura Uyeda is ready to make an instant impact on the national MMA scene.

Undefeated in her career, Uyeda is a blue belt in BJJ. She started her career with three first round finishes and is looking for win #6 against Molly Wren-Holmes and earn her ticket to the finals.


Wombat Sports:  How did you get started in MMA?

Laura Uyeda: I’ve competed in sports for most of my life; however, my experience with martial arts began four years ago at Westside MMA where I began training and competing in bjj.  I have a competitive spirit and I’m quick to learn.  I won my first Jiu-jitsu tournament after three weeks of training.  My coaches, Matt Hamilton and Roli Delgado, were interested in seeing how I would do in the cage.  After feeling the thrill of winning my first MMA fight, I just couldn’t stop and I now I want to see how far I can go in the sport.

Laura Uyeda 03Wombat: Can you tell us something about your gym and training partners and how they have been helpful in training?  We know one of the best BJJ female black belts Hillary Williams is a coach there…

Uyeda: There is an outstanding depth of experience at Westside MMA in Little Rock, AR.  We have coaches in judo, bjj, boxing, muay thai, etc., who are extremely knowledgeable in their areas of expertise.  They all help me implement techniques into my game to help me become a well-rounded MMA fighter.  No matter your goals, we all have something to contribute as teammates helping each other improve and achieve.

W.S.: These are going to be shorter two minute rounds versus the usual 3 minutes.  How are you preparing and is it something you are looking forward to?

L.U.: My preparation for the fight is similar to training for my previous three minute round fights.  I’m training to be active on my feet, on the ground, or wherever the fight takes me.  I’m definitely looking forward to it, because I know the fight is going to be fast pace and action packed.  There will be a sense of urgency to get in there and fight hard from beginning to end.  It will be a fun and exciting fight.

W.S.: The South has made huge strides in developing female talent as of late.  How do you feel female fighting is developing in your area?

L.U.: It’s exciting to see the growing awareness for women’s contributions to MMA, from more publicized promotions such as the UFC and Invicta FC to smaller local shows.  Gyms here are encouraging and supportive to women wanting to participate.  Fight shows are striving to find and promote female talent.  I only started fighting a little over a year ago; the fight opportunities I’ve had this past year were not available in the years before.  Now I am able to represent Arkansas in Tuff-N-Uff’s four women MMA tournament in Las Vegas and that’s a big deal.  I hope to encourage other up and coming fighters in my area.

W.S.: This is the first time you will be fighting outside the south versus some of the toughest amateur fighters.  How do you feel going into the tournament?

L.U.: Tuff-N-Uff is a well-respected fight promotion and I am excited to have been selected for this unique opportunity.  I currently have a 5-0 record, so I know that I am entering this tournament with solid fundamentals.  This is an extremely dynamic sport; however, and I know that I will be facing tough competitors each with her own strengths.  My biggest asset is my eagerness to learn, so I am ready to face new challenges, gain more experience, and grow as a fighter.  I am confident in my abilities and I am determined to win.

W.S.: What would it mean to you to win this tournament and fight for Invicta?

L.U.: I am ecstatic to have this opportunity to fight for Tuff-N-Uff with the chance to be part of Invicta FC.  Invicta FC has made great strides in the growth of women’s MMA.  It would be an honor for me to be among this elite group of female athletes and to take part in promoting the future growth of women’s MMA.  I want to represent the sport as a positive role model and be a successful representation of my Westside MMA family.

W.S.: Anything you want to add/thank?

L.U.: I want to thank my coaches and training partners at Westside MMA. Thank you to my family and friends who support me.

One thought on “Tuff-n-uff Strawweight Tourney Preview: Laura Uyeda

  1. Pingback: The MRS – April 11 | Wombat Sports

Leave a Reply

