Corriea Wins UFC Debut; Kedzie Calls it a Career

Kedzie

Brazilian Bethe Correia won a razor thin split decision Friday at the UFC card in Brisbane, Australia, which became a retirement match for Julie Kedzie.

Correia (7-0) and Kedzie (16-13) went toe to toe on the feet for most of the fight on the feet. Kedzie mixed in leg kicks with her strikes, while Correia using her punches in volume.  With Correia taking round 1 after getting a takedown, and Kedzie taking round 2 due to effective striking, it came down to a close round three where both exchanged good shots. Corriea was able to secure another takedown and land a kick to the body before the fight was over.

The judges were split, but gave the decision to Corriea, who is now undefeated at 7-0.

Shortly after the fight, Kedzie went to twitter and announce that she would be retiring from active competition.

“Before walking out to my fight today, I had a long talk with my coach and we decided that this would be my last MMA fight. I would have loved to have gone out on a win, but c’est la vie-don’t leave it to the judges. Heartbreak is a huge part of this sport.”

“I really truly want to thank all of you for being a part of my journey as a fighter. I will still be involved in MMA for the rest of my life but now it’s time for me to accept that I can give more to the sport by stepping back and taking role in helping to develop other fighters.”

“From the bottom of my heart, thank you to the UFC, my team, and all of you who have made me achieve some amazing dreams.”

Kedzie will continue to help train fighters at Jackson’s MMA and commentate for InvictaFC. She has had a huge impact in the sport and will continue to in her retirement from fighting professionally.

We wish her the best .

Leave a Reply

