Alida Gray Talks KO Power; Title Match Against Aguilar

Gray
Gray

Matt Brown sustained some heat from female fight fans Thursday as he made two radical statements about the fairer sex on a podcast.

The first was “female fighters should fight topless”, which was one that caused an apology from his employer, the UFC, and himself Thursday night.

The second statement was that “females don’t have KO power”. There are many examples of how Brown is definitely wrong about this, but Wombat Sports decided to ask the most recent winner of the “WMMA Press Awards KO of the Year” Alida Gray about her knockout last year during the World Series of Fighting conference call Thursday.

“In the fight against Soannia Tiem, my coach and I with my teammates practiced that overhand right for about two weeks, and he got into my face and said ‘Throw the overhand right. She’s going to be there. She’s not going to move. Just throw it.'”

“The bell rang, I got the closest I could to Soannia and I three the overhand right. It landed perfectly and I knocked her out.”

You can watch Gray’s award winning KO here.

Gray’s knockout wasn’t a fluke by any means. As a child, she had good technique with her punches training under her father.

“When I was growing up, my father was a karate black belt and we would have contests to see who could punch him the hardest. At the end would always win. He always stated ‘you punch hard!'”

Gray is hoping to take some of that power and use it to upset the #1 strawweight on the planet Jessica Aguilar January 18th for the WSOF’s first ever female title. Even though Gray has solid striking in her back pocket, she is open to winning any way she can.

“I’m not going to predict what is going to happen in the fight against Jessica. If I knock her out, great! If I tap her out that is also great. I’m just looking for a win however it comes, I’ll take it.”

When it came to Brown and his comments about KO power, WSOF matchmaker Ali Abdel-Aziz had the last word.

“I think if Alida hit Matt Brown, she would knock out Matt Brown, too.”

The World Series of Fighting 8 card will air on NBC Sports Net Saturday January 18 from the Seminole Hard Rock in Hollywood, FL.

One thought on “Alida Gray Talks KO Power; Title Match Against Aguilar”

Leave a Reply

