Future Stars – Monique Sciberras

Wombat Sports is continuing its efforts to profile some of those fighters under the age of 18 that will be the future of combat sports; be it MMA, boxing, kickboxing, wrestling, and Brazilian Jiu-jitsu.

If you have a fighter under 18 you want to be featured comment below.

You can read all the “Future Stars” we have featured so far here.


monique 0114 year old Monique Sciberras has already done what many female fighters twice her age can only dream about, train and compete in Thailand.

The Australian teenager holds junior world titles and has fought on the annual Kings Cup Muay Thai card in 2009 at the age of nine.

The remarkable thing is that Sciberras has done all this not just for fun and the challenge, but to help her autism.

Austism is a Neurodevelopmental disorder that effects how the brain works, and hinders social development. Studies have shown sports help treat autism. In martial arts in particular, the elements of predictability, structure, and the challenges of physical interaction with other people help social skills and adapting to situations.

We got a chance to talk to Sciberras about her experiences in Muay Thai and her goals as she grows as a fighter.


Wombat Sports: What got you interested in getting involved in combat sports?

Monique Sciberras: My parents put me into combat sports because of my Autism. They could not afford for me to play tennis, so my father trained me in the art of Muay Thai since I can remember. Doctors told them I had no future, and would never go to a normal school, hold a normal job, or even speak properly. My parents couldn’t accept this.

Wombat: How has it helped with your autism?

Sciberras: It has done everything for me. In 2009, I fought on the Kings Cup in Bangkok and a week later, I had a prize fight; five 3 minute rounds. I won in the second round by TKO. I have fought every year since in Thailand basically have a lot more confidence in life.

monique 03W.S.: What do you enjoy about it?

M.S.: I love meeting all the people that if I hadn’t trained in Muay Thai I would not have met like. I love training with Jeff Fenech on my hands movement.

W.S.: How have your friends and classmates reacted to it?

M.S.: My friends love to watch the fights and my classmate is my mum because she is my teacher. I do home schooling and most of my friends are from church. Everyone has been supportive.

W.S.: What comes naturally to you in fighting?

M.S.: When I enter the ring its my sand pit. I feel at home

W.S.: What have you found difficult?

M.S.: The hard part is making the weight. My opponents have the same skill level, so there is no easy fight. It’s a case of who wants it more. Prize fights are more serious, and I’d say people that do the sport in Thailand need to win.

monique 02W.S.: What was it like to fight in Thailand?

M.S.: I have had many fights in Thailand and you find out who you fight that day. It’s not a case of who you want to fight, and sometimes, they are much larger. When you have traveled so far, how can you say no?

W.S.: Who do you look up to in fighting?

M.S.: Cris Cyborg. I hope to take the path of Gina Carano.

W.S.: How do you feel about the future of females in fighting sports?

M.S.: I think everyone is sick of seeing men fight and the future will be with females. It’s going to be big and I plan on being there.

W.S.: What are your aspirations in fighting?

M.S.: I would love to fight on Master Toddys Show in Muaythai, have a boxing title fight, and make my fight home in Las Vegas.

W.S.: Anyone you’d like to thank/add?

M.S.: I’d like to thank Jeff Fenech for giving me his time, Master Toddy for always giving me a warm welcome, and you for giving me a chance to share my story

Leave a Reply

