Tuff-n-uff Strawweight Tourney Preview: Molly Wren-Holms

In the coming days, we will be previewing the upcoming Tuff-n-uff strawweight tournament. The winner will get a contract to InvictaFC.

The semi-finals will be April 11 in Vegas and can be seen online at GoFightLive.tv for $10. 


molly wren holmes

Undefeated California fighter Molly Wren-Holmes has finished her first 3 opponents within the first round. Her last fight saw her win an unanimous decision over Alyson Carvalho in January.

She will face fellow undefeated fighter Laura Uyeda in the semi-finals.


Wombat Sports: How did you get started in MMA?

Molly Wren-Holmes: I played sports all throughout high school. Once that was over and I began college at Cal Poly SLO, the everyday gym routine became really boring. At that point I started doing cardio kickboxing classes at my little brothers MMA gym and from there I was hooked. Eventually I made my way to practicing with the team, participating in grappling tournaments, pankration, kickboxing, and now MMA.

molly wren holmes 02Wombat: Your last fight was the first time you went the distance. Did you learn a lot form that fight?

Wren-Holmes: Of course I would have liked to have finished that fight, but it was definitely a good experience. If anything I was able to prove to myself that I can go the distance and still be successful.

W.S.: Can you tell us something about your gym and training partners and how they have been helpful in training?

MWH: I work with some of the best coaches and training partners out there. My coaches have really turned up my training and are willing to push me where I need to be in order to take my game to the next level. “Bigger, faster, stronger.” That’s what I strive to be and that’s where my coaches push me. Luke Riddering, Antonio Banuelos, Justin Frasure, Cruz Gomez, Eric Sandahl, Anthony Capelli and all of my amazing training partners are the reason I am where I am right now.

W.S.: These are going to be shorter two minute rounds versus the usual 3 minutes. How are you preparing and is it something you are looking forward to?

MWH: My last fight was also two minute rounds. It was a different pace, but time isn’t really a concern of mine. My coaches prepare me for whatever is put in front of me. Who wouldn’t look forward to punching faces!

W.S.: How is the weight cut going?

MWH: My last fight was a same day heavier catchweight bout, but I have fought at 115 twice before. No one likes the weight cut, but it will pay off. Everything is on point and I’ll be 115 come fight time.

W.S.:  What would it meant to you to win this tournament and fight for Invicta?

MWH: It would be a dream come true. Making my professional debut with one of the best WMMA platforms would be amazing. Not only would winning this tournament put me one step closer to my belt, but it would prove to myself that I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing. I would love nothing more than to be involved with the Invicta promotion. They have done so much for WMMA and it would be an honor to be a part of it.

W.S.: Anything you want to add/thank?

MWH: Yes! Ridderings MMA, Pit Slo, CCSA, and Budo Ryu have all been there throughout this whole process. Like I said before, I couldn’t do this without my amazing coaches I mentioned previously. Casey Noland and Christina Riddering are two top WMMA athletes that have really supported me and taken me under their wings, I couldn’t thank them enough for that. Also my family, without them none of this would be possible. They are my biggest supporters and the best fans ever! A big thank you and shout out to my awesome sponsors; WingFoot Iskiate, CCSA, SCI Construction, Las Vegas Chapman DCJ, and AngryMade Fight Gear. I can’t wait to put on a great show, see you all there!

 

One thought on “Tuff-n-uff Strawweight Tourney Preview: Molly Wren-Holms”

Leave a Reply

