Courtney King and Jennah Macallister Announced for Rock’n’Rumble

king vs macallisterTwo of Colorado’s up and coming amateur bantamweights are preparing to square off.

Fort Collins’s Courtney King (1-1) and Bloomfield’s Jennah Macallister (1-1) are set to for Rock’n’Rumble in Denver November 21. Both come from up and coming local gyms (Z’s Traing Gym and A-Art of War respectfully) and are looking to get a winning record.

“I started training a while ago when one of my friends pretty much dragged me into Z’s gym,” King remembers. “It didn’t take long for me to love the sport and after my coach encouraged me to compete that eventually lead to me fighting MMA and after I won my first fight I haven’t looked back since.”

“I started fighting because I found out that women were getting more and more into it and it struck my interest,” Macallister  explained “I just wanted to train though and not fight, but my trainer suggested I get into some tournaments and I did so.”

This isn’t the first time the two fought in a combat situation. Macallister’s first ever grappling tournament saw her lose to King.

It doesn’t detour Macallister, however.

“I don’t think there will be any advantage for either of us having had that grappling match,” Macallister tells us.  “It’s been a long time and we’ve both changed and are different fighters. Plus we start the tournament standing but bodies aren’t crashing into each other like they will in the cage.”

“I don’t have any thoughts on her. I know she had fought before and I respect her as a fighter,” King stated about Macallister. “I’m there to win. I’m ready to do whatever it takes to do it and more than ready to go through whatever she can throw at me to win.”

“Courtney is a great fighter from a really well established and respected gym,” Macallister added. “She is a great challenge and I already lost to her once in competition so there is a definite element of revenge for me when I look at this fight.”

“Expect a great fight, but maybe don’t expect all three rounds this time.”

The fight will be a part of the Rock’n’Rumble card, which will feature a concert by multi-platinum recording artists P.O.D.

The event will take place at the National Western Complex on November 21.

Go to www.RnRMMA.com for tickets.

Leave a Reply

