Future Stars – Cydnee Winger

cyndee winger 03High school junior Cydnee Winger is about ready to take on the world.

The Colorado native trains six days a week on top of doubling her class work so she can graduate early. She currently is a second degree blackbelt in Youn wha, a hybred martial art that incorporates both striking and ground training.

We talk to Winger about her goals in the sport, and her training in Colorado.


Wombat Sports: What got you interested in getting involved in combat sports?

Cydnee Winger: My dream all started when I was five. My parents took me to a local karate class and ever since then I haven’t been able to stop. I watched the UFC fights growing up but I saw a opportunity when the UFC began to bring in women fighters. I enjoy the diversity as well as the constant change in the mma world.

Honestly, all I want in the world is to aspire as a pro mma fighter.

Wombat: What discipline do you train in?

Winger:  I trained in Youn wha martial arts which is a mixture of all seven disciplines.

W.S.: Can you tell us about your gym and coaches?

C.W.: I’ve started up at Child’s Play Gym, a private gym in Parker, CO. My coaches and team are the best people in my life. Vern Earwood, my coach, challenges everyone and still keeps that support system strong. The gym is one of the top in the state an we cross train with Grudge and other gyms.

cyndee winger 02W.S.: What do you enjoy about training?

C.W.: Everything is evolving and nothing is constant.

W.S.: How has your friends and classmates reacted to your fight training?

C.W.: My friends encourage me, while my classmates try and put down my goals and aspirations.

W.S.: How about your family?

C.W.: My family supports me with every fiber they have.

W.S.: Who do you look up to in fighting?

C.W.: I look up to those who were once underdogs and have overcome challenges. Donald “Cowboy” Cerrine has always been one of my favorite fighters because he is humble.

W.S.: How do you feel about the future of females in MMA?

C.W.: I feel like the future for females in MMA is only beginning to unravel. The potential as athletes will continue to grow and surpass any negativity towards women in a “mans sport. ” naturally being humble comes naturally to me.

W.S.: What comes naturally to you in fighting? What have you found difficult?

C.W.: The natural thing for me is I’m not trying to prove anything to anyone but myself. The only person who can diminish my flame and passion towards my dreams Is me. I do everything in my power to be better than I was yesterday.

The hardest thing for me to grasp is the ground game. So I take extra time out to work at something that is my weakness so someday it will be my strength. The striking and stand up is one of my strongest points.

W.S.: What are your aspirations in fighting?

C.W: My dream is to make it into UFC and be one of the youngest champions in the league.

W.S.: Anyone you’d like to thank/add?

C.W.: I’m grateful for my family and my coaches as well as my team. They drive me to succeed in every way possible.

Leave a Reply

