jocelyn-jones-lybarger-tecia-torres-ufc-194-indiscutido

UFC Strawweight Jocelyn Jones-Lybarger Retires

The women’s divisions losses another great talent to retirement.

Jocelyn Jones-Lybarger announced she was hanging up her gloves last week on her Instagram following her submission loss to Nina Ansaroff at UFC Fight Night Phoenix January 15.

“I have been doing what I love for almost 9 years now and I can promise you I gave it everything I had,” Lybarger posted. “Tonight I’m so excited to announce my retirement from fighting. I’m ready for what’s next. I’m ready to be with my wife and kids, to be the best wife and most of all to be the best step mom to our girls.”

Lybarger found some success in MMA. Follow her twin sister Jillian into fighting, she was on the historic Tiff-n-uff “TUFF Girls” amateur all female event in 2010. She would eventually take home the the promotion’s strawweight title in 2012.

Her pro career started on a 6-1 run, which included a win over Bellator tournament champ Zoila Frausto to win the RFA strawweight title. The win would get her signed to the UFC. After a 3-0 skid, she decided to call it a career.

Lybarger is also known for her charity work with various cancer charities. This had a personal place for her as her mother and her wife was stricken with the disease.

Lybarger didn’t say what she would be doing now besides enjoying her family, but it is expected she will continue to help her friends and teammates at the MMA Lab in Phoenix, Arizona.

Leave a Reply

