2016 WMMA Press Nominees for Fight of the Year

The ladies always bring a war into the cage and this year was no exception.

One of the hardest categories to decide but we rounded it down to ten epic battles.

The WMMA Press committee is a set of journalists that have covered the female divisions of martial arts for years on may different levels.

Six journalists will vote on the award:

This is the 7th year for the awards which sees the best in female fighters recognized.

Here are the nominees for Fight of the Year (Fights in UFC Fight Pass unless otherwise noted):

  • Sarah D’Alelio vs. Andrea Lee – InvictaFC 16
  • Angela Hill vs Livia Souza – InvictaFC 17
  • Joanna Jędrzejczyk vs. Claudia Gadelha II – The Ultimate Fighter 23 Finale
  • Joanna Jędrzejczyk vs. Karolina Kowalkiewicz – UFC 205
  • Karolina Kowalkiewicz vs. Rose Namajunas – UFC 201
  • Angela Lee vs Mei Yamaguchi – One Championship 42 (video here)
  • Jennifer Maia vs. Roxanne Modafferi – InvictaFC 19
  • Jennifer Maia vs. Vanessa Porto – InvictaFC 16
  • Kelly Faszholz vs. Lauren Murphy  – UFC Fight Night 83
  • Miesha Tate vs. Holly Holm – UFC 196


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s