Future Stars – Brooke Fahey

IMG_4249Someone to look forward to in the next few years is New Jersey’s Brooke Fahey.

The 16 year old already has an accomplished career in BJJ as a blue belt, earning 12 regional titles to her credit. At the world renowned Miller Brothers gym, she is coached not only the by UFC vets, but also rising stars in their own right pro fighter Sean “Shorty Rock” Santella (16-6-1) and amateur Mike Pagano (8-1).

Fahey will look to follow their footsteps into MMA.


Wombat Sports: What got you interested in getting involved in BJJ?

Brooke Fahey: When I was younger I was a daddy’s girl so I would go to the wrestling matches with my dad and watch the UFC with him every Saturday night. I watched Ronda Rousey perform and I told my dad I wanted to be like her so he told me if I did 30 bicep curls every night he would sign me up at the closest MMA gym which was Sussex County MMA. So I stayed committed to doing that and he signed me up, as soon as I stepped onto the mats I fell in love and knew this was something I would want to keep moving forward in.

Wombat: What do you enjoy about it?

Fahey: I truly enjoy the discipline, competition and pride it brings me. I work so hard and having it all pay off is no better feeling.

W.S.: How has your friends and classmates reacted to it?

B.F.: My friends and classmates think it’s really awesome that I’m involved in BJJ, they always tell me I should wrestle for my school haha.

W.S.: How about your family?

IMG_0031B.F.: My mom, dad and sister love the fact that I train in BJJ because they know I will be able to protect myself if I ever got involved in a bad situation and they know it makes me happy so they support it 100%.

W.S.: What comes naturally to you in BJJ? What have you found difficult?

B.F.: Mental strength comes naturally to me in BJJ because I’ve always been very strong minded and if I put my mind to something I do it and I bring that into BJJ and it boosts up my confidence a whole lot. I really have not found anything difficult in BJJ, sure “losing” is something nobody wants but I take it as win or learn.

IMG_0152W.S.: Who do you look up to in fighting?

B.F.: I look up to my coach Sean Shorty Rock Santella in fighting. He’s such a talented fighter and overall an amazing person, he has helped me with so much and I couldn’t thank him enough for everything he’s done for me. He guides me through my journey and always keeps me on the right track.

W.S.: How do you feel about the future of females in sports like MMA,
boxing, and wrestling?

B.F.: I feel like the future for women in sports like MMA, boxing and wrestling is only going to continue to grow. If there’s a positive attitude from the women who are already involved in these sports I feel like the sport will continue to grow and women will have more girl power!!

W.S.: What are your goals – will you be taking up other sports in the future
like wrestling, MMA, or kickboxing?

B.F.: My goals are to definitely be progressing into MMA and kickboxing. By the end of this summer I am really looking into a kickboxing fight and when I turn 18 I plan on stepping into the cage and doing anything I can do to get noticed by the UFC. My dream of being in the UFC started when I was 13 years old and I won’t stop chasing that dream till it comes true.

IMG_0143

Highlight Reel

Leave a Reply

