Colleen Schneider Looks for Hometown Win

It will be a homecoming for Colleen Schneider Friday night.

Scheinder will return to the area she grew up in Verona, New York Friday night to take on TUF 23 semi-finalist Kate Jackson at Bellator 182. Scheinder is coming off an impressive submission win over Chrissie Daniels in January.

One of the top 5 fighters on the roster, a win could give her an argument for title contention. The timing is prefect Schneider told us, as she pointed out recently Valerie Letourneau has yet to debut.

The match in Verona was a long time coming, as she was born and raised down the road in Syracuse, New York before moving to the west coast in the start of her MMA career. She is expecting a lot of local support for the fight.

I will have tons of family there and friends from childhood. I have always hoped to fight in upstate New York specifically, and I never thought I’d get to since MMA wasn’t legal in New York, and when it was (legalized) I didn’t know how I would fight up there.  I am really excited to stay up there.

Schneider has a long career of training different styles, from Sanshou to shoot wrestling. When asked about if she is set in one in particular?

I train everything…I don’t think I am limited to one style. That’s the way I see MMA as a whole. I am not trying to use just one style in MMA. I am trying to learn everything I can like karate,  Taekwondo, Sanshou, Muay Thai, freestyle wrestling, catch wrestling, submission wrestling, jiu-jitsu. It’s about pulling that all together.

Schneider’s match will stream on Bellator.com. Stream starts at 6:30 p.m. est/3:30 p.m. pst.

Leave a Reply

