Tag Archives: WMMA Press Association

WMMA Press Award Flyweight for the Year 2014 – DeAnna Bennett


The WMMA Press Association announced Saturday it is giving its 2014 Flyweight of the Year award to DeAnna Bennett.

Bennett went 4-0 this year, with two under the InvictaFC banner. Her promotional debut saw her get a TKO win over vertean Michelle Ould. She is currently undefeated and has set herself as a prime contender for the InvictaFC 125 title. She has finished in 4 of her pro wins.

You can hear Bennett accept her award here.

UFC Takes the WMMA Press Award 2014 “Promotion of the Year” Honor; Headline of the Year

Ultimate Media Day
TUF 20 Cast

Saturday, the WMMA Press Association announced it’s pick for the 2014 Promotion of the Year.

The UFC held 31 female pro bouts this year, the most by any organization. This doesn’t include the Ultimate Fighter 20 pre-tapes matches from this summer. With their expansion of their bantamweight division and addition of the starwweights, the UFC has gained ground in the women’s divisions and looks to continue the momentum in 2015.

The crowning of Carla Esparza as the first ever UFC strawweight champion took the “Headline of the Year” honors.

Congratulations to the UFC for the WMMA Press Awards 2014 Promotion of the Year.

2014 WMMA Press Award Nominees Announced

wmma-awards-2014-light-bg-300x300The WMMA Press Association have announced their 2014 Award nominees.

This is the the longest running awards for the female divisions of MMA as we enter our 6th year. Six websites from across the planet are a part of the committee this year which is a cross section of women’s MMA experts:

The committee will vote for all but one of the awards. The Fan Favorite Award’s voting is open to the public and you can vote here. The “Might Mia Hayes Inspirational Fighter of the Year” winner will also be announced, as well as the recipient of the “Legacy Award” – going to an individual who had helped the sport grow.

The winners will be announced the weekend of January 10 on special editions of the Wombat Sports and Pro WMMA Now podcasts.

Here are the nominees:

Fighter of the Year

Winners of the divisional awards will be eligible

Featherweight of the Year

  • Amanda Bell (3-0 in 2014)
  • Megan Anderson (4-0 in 2014)
  • Latoya Walker (2-0 in 2014)
  • Jessy Miele (3-1 in 2014)

Bantamweight of the Year

  • Ronda Rousey (2-0 in 2014)
  • Bethe Correia (2-0 in 2014)
  • Tonya Evinger (2-0 in 2014)
  • Pannie Kianzad (3-0 in 2014)

Flyweight of the Year

  • Roxanne Modafferi (2-0 in 2014)
  • DeAnna Bennett (4-0 in 2014)
  • Maryna Moroz (3-0 in 2014)
  • Emily Corso (4-0 in 2014)

Strawweight of the Year

  • Katja Kankaanpää (2-0 won Invicta title)
  • Carla Esparza (1-0; won UFC title)
  • Jessica Aguilar (3-0 in 2014)
  • Joanna Jedrzejczyk (3-0 in 2014 @ 115)

Atomweight of the Year

  • Herica Tiburcio (1-0 in 2014; won the Invicta title)
  • Jodie Esquibel (2-0 in 2014)
  • Seo Hee Ham (3-0 in 2014 at atomweight)
  • Ayaka Hamsaki (2-0 – if she wins NYE)

Fight of the Year

  • Paige VanZant vs. Kalin Curran
  • Catherine Costigan vs. Irene Cabello
  • Katja Kankaanpää vs Stephanie Eggink
  • Herica Tiburcio vs Michelle Waterson
  • Randa Markos vs Jessica Penne
  • Renata Baldan vs. Michele Ângelo
  • Cat Zingano vs. Amanda Nunes
  • Jéssica Andrade vs. Raquel Pennington

Knockout of the Year

  • Eeva Siiskonen vs Inga Kaledeite at Carelia Fight 10 – (Video here)
  • Amanda Bell vs Marina Shafir at Chaos At The Casino 5 – (Video Here)
  • Bianca Daimoni vs Yelka Torres at Circuito Talent de MMA 9 – (Video here)
  • Ronda Rousey vs Alexis Davis at UFC 175 – (Video Here)
  • Christine Stanley vs Katie Runyan – (Video here)
  • Joanne Jedrzejczyk  vs Rosi Sexton at Cage Warriors 69 – (Video Here)
  • Michele Angelo vs. Roberta Gomes at MMASH 3 – (Video here)

Submission of the Year

  • Hérica Tibúrcio defeats Michelle Waterson via Guillotine Choke at Invicta FC 10 – (Video on UFC Fight Pass)
  • Reina Cordoba defeats Anely Jimenez via Key Lock at CRF 14 – (Video here)
  • Jessy Miele defeats Lissette Neri via Scraf Hold Armlock at Gladiator Challenge – (Video here)
  • Kirstie Gannaway defeats Adek Omar via Triangle Choke at ONE FC 22 – (Video here)
  • Milana Dudieva def. Daria Chibisova via Heel Hook at ProFC 53 – (Video Here)
  • Katja Kankaanpää def. Stephanie Eggink via Darce Choke at Invicta FC 8 – (Video on UFC Fight Pass)
  • Raquel Pennington def. Ashlee Evans-Smith via Bulldog Choke at UFC 181 – (Video on UFC Fight Pass)
  • Luana Souza def. Kelly Katiussy via Keylock at X-fest 7 – (Video here)

Newcomer of the Year

  • Katlyn Chookagian (2-0 ammy; 2-0 pro in 2014)
  • Andrea Lee (3-1 ammy, 2-1 pro in 2014)
  • Emily Corso (4-0 pro in 2014)
  • Jamie Moyle (3-0 ammy, 1-0 pro in 2014)
  • Amanda Ribas (2-0 ammy, 3-0 pro)
  • Danielle Taylor (4-0 pro)
  • Jenny Lou Shiver (3-1 pro)
  • Jessy Miele (3-1 pro)

Amateur of the Year

  • Brenda Enriquez (3-0 in 2014)
  • Ilima-Lei Macfarlane (3-0 in 2014)
  • Hannah Zeciri (4-0 in 2014)
  • Robin Wissmann (3-0)
  • Amanda Lino (6-0)
  • Sarah Jamila (3-0)
  • Alyse Anderson (3-0)
  • Alexa Connors (3-0)

Promotion of the Year

  • Invicta
  • Princesses of Pain
  • XFC
  • MMA Super Heroes
  • Cage Warriors
  • UFC

Sponsor of the Year

  • Fight Chix
  • Tussel Fight Gear
  • SportsFoods
  • xIonx
  • MMA Road Hog
  • Fightergirls

Headline of the Year

  • Invicta Inks Deal with UFC Fight Pass
  • Bellator Adds Featherweight Division
  • UFC crowns Strawweight champion in Carla Esparza
  • XFC announces female tournaments
  • MMA Super Heroes Debuts with Female Tournament