Future Stars – Alexandra Carter

alexandra carter 01Texas has been know for some of the toughest fighters around and Alexandra Carter is no exception.

The Gracie BJJ student has placed first in teen divisions multiple times at NAGA in both gi and no-gi. She has traveled a bit outside her native Allen, TX to train at other Gracie facilities and is looking to continue her journey with a new gym in the near future.

We talked to Carter about her passion for BJJ.

—–

Wombat Sports: What got you interested in combat sports?

Alexandra Carter: I’ve always loved action movies and thought martial arts looked cool from what I saw onscreen. In middle school a martial arts school opened up across the street from my house. My dad suggested I try it out and that’s how I got into martial arts.

alexandra carterWombat: What do you enjoy about BJJ?

Carter: My favorite thing about Brazilian Jiu Jitsu is how stress relieving it is, but also how it challenges you mentally and physically.

W.S.: How has your friends and classmates reacted to it?

A.C.: My friends and classmates thought it was really cool when I started martial arts and they still do. My friends are very supportive because it’s a sport I enjoy.

W.S.: How about your family?

A.C.: My dad always supported me through martial arts. He helped me start working out outside my gym and hold the pads for me to practice my sparring combinations. He’s been supportive the whole way which is really encouraging to me.

My mom was really worried about the possibility of serious injuries and didn’t want me to train at first, but when I started competing more she decided to support me.

W.S.: What comes naturally to you in fighting? What have you found difficult?

A.C.: I feel like Jiu Jitsu was very challenging when I started, but I got more comfortable once I got more mat hours. My difficulty is when I come across a move that I find challenging and I get frustrated until I understand the action better.

W.S.: Who do you look up to in fighting?

A.C.: I look up to the Gracie family, especially Kyra Gracie and also Mackenzie Dern, or any woman who has been able to earn a black belt in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu.

My favorite judoka and mixed martial artist is Ronda Rousey! She’s a total badass and a perfect example of how bad ass women can be.

W.S.: How do you feel about the future of females in fighting?

A.C.: Since women are now recognized more often in martial arts, women are starting to prove to the world that men aren’t the only ones capable of fighting in combat sports. I also think women being let into the UFC is a great start, but that it is only the beginning for the future of female fighters.

W.S.: What are your aspirations in fighting?

A.C.: My aspiration in the future is to compete more, get my black belt in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and someday win IBJJF worlds then possibly get into mixed martial arts.

W.S.: Anything you want to add/thank?

A.C.: I would like to thank the instructors that have helped me along the way, my dad for getting me into martial arts, my friends and family for supporting me and BHFV Clothing for sponsoring me.

You can find me on Instagram & twitter @alessandrabjj.

Leave a Reply

