Pannie Kianzad on Getting Her Grove Back and Her Quick Turnaround

Photos courtesy Dave Mandel, Invicta FC

“I feel like a big weight have been released of my shoulders! I was very nervous but never hesitating of what I was gonna do, I needed to believe in myself and my abilities.”

This was Pannie Kianzad’s reaction when she won a few weeks ago at InvictaFC 29 in Kansas City. She was undefeated in 8 straight fights before she lost to three of the top bantamweights in the promotion. She ended the skid with an unanimous decision win over Bianca Daimoni. She also looked like her old self in the bout. What does she credit for breaking the losing streak?

“I took in a nutritionist for my camp that I will continue working with for every single fight.  Made me not only make weight great but I felt like a million bucks on fight day. I work on some things I needed to fix from my fight with Sarah (Kaufman) and tons of cage work.”

“Also I needed not to be so harsh with myself . I’m a perfectionist and when I loose I eminently wanna fix my problems and do better.”

Originally from Sweden, Kianzad had been training in Denmark for the past 5 years with Damir Hadsovic and Mads Burnell. With plenty of training partners, it had become a second home for her.

So much in fact she wanted a fight there. Shortly before she entered the Invicta cage a few weeks ago, she got a call to fight Kerry Hughes June 9th.

“I really want to fight in Denmark cuz never got the chance before so this fight is very important for me, Kianzad expressed. “I feel much more confident with myself with I really needed it coming in to this fight in June. It takes me 30 minutes to the arena and to be able to sleep in my own bed before the fight is just great.”

“Both me and Kerry are explosive fighters big a lot of heart. This is gonna be a good one.”

This could be derailed, however, as she just tried out for The Ultimate Fighter Tuesday. If she makes the cut, the show will start shooting in July.


Pannie Kianzad would like to thank – Smoking photos , Menacing Valor, Fighter Alias, Winwedo, Badchicks MMA, Giulliano Gallupi , Roadhog , FSE management, Arte Suave, GRRRL clothing who helped her for my bout and always being so supportive. Also her team Arte Suave; and Xtreme Couture for helping her the days she has been in Vegas.   

Leave a comment