WMMA Press Awards 2013


The WMMA Press Association is happy to announce their 2013 Award Nominees.

The WMMA press is a gathering of the best journalists in the realm of female fighting. Seven WMMA news sites and seven writers will voting on the winners of this fifth annual event.

The committee will be voting January 1 on the winners. The public are invited to vote on the Fan Favorite of the Year, which can be found on all member sites (including ours – voting is on the right hand side).

The winners will be announced on several podcast in early January, with more info coming soon.

Here are the nominees:

Fight of the Year

Fan Favorite Fighter (Total Votes:  2251)
  • Claudia Gadelha:  456 Votes (20.26%) – Winner
  • Roxanne Modafferi:  263 Votes (11.68%)
  • Bec Hyatt:  202 Votes (8.97%)
  • Cat Zingano:  182 Votes (8.09%)
  • Ronda Rousey:  175 Votes (7.77%)
Fighter of the Year 
  • Winner – Barb Honchak 
Featherweight of the Year
  • Julia Budd (2-0, defeat Mollie Estes, Charmaine Tweet)
  • Ashlee Evans-Smith (2-0, defeat Tori Adams, Fallon Fox)
  • Winner – Cristiane “Cyborg” Justino (2-0, defeat Fiona Muxlow, Marloes Coenen)
  • Faith Van Duin (4-0, defeat Kelly Kinita, Michelle Peruzzi, Arlene Blencowe, Kate Da Silva)
Bantamweight of the Year
  • Alexis Davis (3-0, defeat Shayna Baszler, Rosi Sexton, Liz Carmouche)
  • Holly Holm (4-0, defeat Katie Merrill, Allanna Jones, Nikki Knudsen, Angela Hayes)
  • Lauren Murphy (4-0, defeat Jen Scott, Kaitlin Young, Sarah D’Alelio, Miriam Nakamoto)
  • Winner – Ronda Rousey (2-0, defeat Liz Carmouche, Miesha Tate)
Flyweight of the Year
  • Kalindra Faria (5-0, defeat Aline Sattelmayer, Dayse Nascimento, Alessandra Silva, Carina Damm, Hellen Bastos)
  • Alexa Grasso (3-0, defeat Lupita Hernadez, Alejandra Alvarez, Karina Rodriguez)
  • Winner – Barb Honchak (2-0, defeat Vanessa Porto, Leslie Smith)
  • Tina Lähdemäki (3-0, defeat Linn Wennergren, Stephanie Page, Karla Benitez)
Strawweight of the Year
  • Joanne Calderwood (4-0, defeat Livia Plettenburg, Sally Krumdiack, Norma Center, Katja Kankaanpaa)
  • Alida Gray (4-0, defeat Vidonic, Kennett, Tiem, Casimir)
  • Mizuki Inoue (3-0, defeat Seo Jung, Bec Hyatt, Emi Fujino)
  • Winner – Tecia Torres (3-0, defeat Paige VanZant, Rose Namajunas, Felice Herrig)
Atomweight of the Year
  • Amber Brown (1-0, defeat Kikuyo Ishikawa)
  • Seo Hee Ham (2-0, defeat Naho Sugiyama, Sadae Numata)
  • Winner – Michelle Waterson (1-0, defeat Jessica Penne)
  • Jinh Yu (2-0, defeat Meghan Wright, Darla Harris)
Mighty Mia Hayes Inspirational Fighter of the Year
Susie Wyatt (Read more here)
Legacy Award 
Jeff Osborne – Hook’n’Shoot promoter (Read more here)
Newcomer of the Year
  • Amy Cadwell (3-0, defeat Cheryl Chan, Hadley Griffith, Jessica Doerner)
  • Bianca Daimoni (3-0, defeat Alessandra Silva, Morgana Oliveira, Gisele Moreira)
  • Winner – Alida Gray (4-0, defeat Patricia Vidonic, Jessica Kennett, Soannia Tiem, Katie Casimir)
  • Viviane Pereira (3-0, defeat Rosy Duarte, Ilara Joanne, Duda Yankovich)
  • Livia Renata Souza (5-0, defeat Cintia Faria, Aline Sattelmayer, Andressa Rocha, Aline Sattelmayer, Bianca Reis)
  • Faith Van Duin (4-0, defeat Kelly Kinita, Michelle Peruzzi, Arlene Blencowe, Kate Da Silva)
Amateur of the Year
  • Aspen Ladd (5-0 in 2013)
  • Kyra Batara (4-1, 3-1 in 2013)
  • Katlyn Chookagian (5-0; 4-0 in 2013)
  • Brittany Dugas (7-0; 3-0 in 2013)
  • Maegan Goodwin (4-0; 3-0 in 2013)
  • Ashley Hancock (3-0 in 2013)
  • Mary Kate Hayes (4-0 in 2013)
  • Rachel Kovach (3-0 in 2013)
  • Rachael Ostovich (6-0; 2-0 in 2013)
  • Delaney Owen (7-2; 3-1 in 2013)
  • Rach Wiley (3-1; 3-0 in 2013)
  • Winner – Jessica Zomcik (9-3; 3-0 in 2013)
KO of the Year
Submission of the Year
  • Cage Warriors Fighting Championship
  • DEEP Jewels
  • Invicta Fighting Championships – co-winner
  • Tuff-N-Uff
  • UFC – co-winner
  • XFC
  • Babes of MMA
  • Brawl and Maul Fight Performance Gear
  • Fear the Fighter
  • Fight Chix – winner
  • FighterGirls
  • Loyalty Before Royalty
  • MMA Chick
  • Polanti Watches
  • Tussle Fight Gear
  • Winner – Ronda Rousey and Liz Carmouche Become First Women to Compete/Headline a UFC Event
  • Women Enter ‘The Ultimate Fighter’ House, Rousey and Zingano (Tate) to Coach
  • Julianna Pena Becomes First Women’s Ultimate Fighter
  • Cage Warriors Open Multiple Women’s Weight Divisions
  • Invicta Crowns First Champion in Carla Esparza” to “Invicta FC Crowns New Champions in All Five Weight Classes
  • Women’s MMA Pioneer’s Megumi Fujii, Hitomi Akano and Julie Kedzie Hang Up Their Gloves
  • UFC Launches Female Strawweight Division on The Ultimate Fighter, Season 20

24 thoughts on “WMMA Press Awards 2013”

    1. The promotion had a great start this year with their tournament but it was just one event and focused on just one division. Maybe next year when they get a few more events under their belt.

      1. Fair enough. Had a great start? They have always had women fights on their shows even from their very first one and that is more than ufc have done and you have them listed. But it is your award show.Just thinking they have always supported WMMA.

  1. Holly Holm is my idol she is beautiful outstanding and works very hard she has the most amazing attitude she has a big heart and she has trained and trained and her fights are always so awesome she is a one-of-a-kind she deserves where she’s at today she is outstanding I just love her to pieces !!!! her fights are always clean and just so wonderful to see her fight a big congratulations to Holly Holmes hugs and kisses I’m so proud of Holly Holm I always try to go see all her fights she will always be my champion I love you Holly !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Great lists and honored to be nominated for sponsor of the year.

    Thought Amberlynn Orr would be included for amateur fighter of the year. 7-1 overall, 2-0 in 2013 which included winning the V3 Fights 125 title and then beating a tough Jamie Milanowski for the V3 Fights 135 title.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

#1 Site for WOMen's in comBAT Sports

%d bloggers like this: